ISS Honors Prof. Markus Sauer with Gregorio Weber Award

Champaign, Illinois - February 27, 2016 - Prof. Markus Sauer is the winner of the 2016 Weber Award; the award was announced during the Annual Meeting of the Biophysical Society in Los Angeles, California.

Markus Sauer is professor at the Department of Biotechnology and Biophysics at the University of Würzburg. Born in 1965 in Pforzheim, he studied Chemistry at the Universities of Karlsruhe, Saarbrücken and Heidelberg. In 1995 he received his doctorate in physical chemistry in the field of dye development for highly sensitive biomedical applications. In 1998 he received the BioFuture price of the BMBF, which enabled him to initiate independent research in the field of single-molecule microscopy and spectroscopy. In 2003 he was appointed Chair for Laser Physics at Bielefeld University; in 2009 he was appointed in the Department of Biotechnology and Biophysics at the University of Würzburg.

His research interests include the development of new high resolution microscopy methods, characterization and analysis of individual molecules and the study of the conformational dynamics of biomolecules with high time resolution under equilibrium conditions. Markus Sauer is a recognized pioneer in the development of dyes for super-resolution microscopy. He authored more than 180 publications in very prestigious journals in the field. Among other techniques, he is well known for the dSTORM super-resolution technique.

ISS is honored to recognize Dr. Markus Sauer as this year’s recipient of the Gregorio Weber Award for Excellence in Fluorescence Theory and Applications for his continued contributions to the evolution of the field.